Tags

, , , ,

Image

Behold, the signature of Bill Irwin on one of (one of) my copies of my favorite play, Waiting for Godot.  I ran into Mr. Irwin here at the Hyatt where he will be serving as the key note speaker for ATHE, and I couldn’t resist asking him to sign my copy of Godot (which I had brought with me just in case).  A little backstory: Mr. Irwin starred in a production of Godot on Broadway in 2009 with Nathan Lane, John Goodman, and John Glover, and it was right before my friends (Adam Singleton, Spencer Williams, Ryan McBride, Chesna Riley, Christa Moss, and Pam Brown) put on our production of Godot, which I so audaciously decided to direct and star in.  The press he and the rest of the cast did on Charlie Rose and other shows was so insightful and really helped me better connect to what is still my favorite play.  I even wrote to Mr. Irwin inquiring after some advice, but never heard back; needless to say, I don’t hold it against him.  Clearly, he did not write Waiting for Godot, and clearly, I never got a chance to even see his production, but I’m a total dork sometimes and can’t help myself.  So there it is.

Special shout out to my old Godot buddies.  It still ranks as a triumph for me, if more a personal one than an artistic one.